How to Make a Quilt : Part 3 : Putting the pieces together

3 Apr

All my quilt pieces are cut and my big goal for the day is to piece them together. I might change that to my goal for the week.
I looked up common quilt measurements then layed out pieces on the floor to get the look and size I wanted.

20120403-162252.jpg
I had to trim most of the pieces, then I sewed them into long strips.

20120403-162403.jpg
I ironed each strip, trimmed the edges so they were even, and started sewing the strips together.
All you really need to do for a quilt like this is cut and sew in a straight line, which is actually more difficult than it sounds.

20120403-162624.jpg
I’ve got about half the quilt pieced together, and I am wiped out!
I think Anabel approves so far.

20120403-162738.jpg
I’m hoping I’ll have enough energy tomorrow to finish the top of this thing, then I can start worrying about the batting…

Check out Part 1, Part 2, and Part 4

3 Responses to “How to Make a Quilt : Part 3 : Putting the pieces together”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How to Make a Quilt : a Beginner’s Journey : Part 1 « Lemon Tree Studio - June 15, 2012

    […] out Part 2, Part 3, and Part 4 Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:Like4 bloggers like […]

  2. How to Make a Quilt : Part 2 : Aunt Polly knows what she’s talking about « Lemon Tree Studio - June 15, 2012

    […] How to Make a Quilt : Part 3 : Putting the pieces together « Lemon Tree Studio – June 15, 2012 […] out Part 1, Part 2, and Part 4 Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:Like2 bloggers like […] […]

  3. How to Make a Quilt : Part 4 : It’s Done! « Lemon Tree Studio - June 15, 2012

    […] out Part 1, Part 2, or Part 3 Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 427 other followers