What I Wore: Keepin’ It Real

9 Mar

Good morning! This is my first ‘What I Wore’ post. I gotta be honest. I got a little nervous about this. I stood in my closet and nothing seemed cute enough, stylish enough. I’m no fashionista. I really like jeans and a comfy shirt. What on earth could I pick out for a WIW post? Then I realized that I’m also no poser. So here you go. The real me.

Yep. That’s me. In my messy room. With semi-wet hair.

Oh look. That’s me again. Taking my pic in the mirror. In my messy room.

Wanna know where I got my awesome threads? So you can copy my look? Good luck.

My oh-so-comfy jeans are from the clearance rack at J.Crew. Five years ago. They were still a bit of a splurge at $19.99. I prefer to spend about $10 on my jeans, but that doesn’t happen very often.

My shirt is from the clearance rack at Gap Outlet. That’s right. Even at the outlet mall, I head straight for the sales. I’m a teeny bit cheap. The shirt was $4.97. But I had a coupon, so it was $3 something.

Me. In my awesome old baggy jeans. That I LOVE.

I’m wearing flip flops. They’re my favorite. It’s forty degrees out. And I’ve got my toes showing.

Ready for a close up?

This is how I accessorize. Pretty much every day. This necklace is from Lift Your Sole. It’s how I brag about myself. Because I ran a marathon. Once. And pretty much wanted to die. I will probably never run one again. But I’m glad I did it.

It’s me again. This is my face. And my hair. And my earrings. I love them. I got them a few weeks ago when I went with the hubs to Maui for our anniversary. We got married at the Four Seasons seven years ago, and went back there for breakfast. There were several local artists there, and one of them was Mckenna Hallett. She’s awesome. She makes jewelry out of junk. Literally. She digs through the dump, chases trash trucks, stuff like that. Then she makes amazing art for people (like me!) to wear. We bonded over not recycling (Check out her site, StopRecycling.com). We high-fived. We hugged. I left feeling like I made a new friend. All that to say, I like my earrings.

And a close up of the earings. Did I mention that I love them?

And this is What I Wore, for your viewing and reading pleasure.

~Megan

3 Responses to “What I Wore: Keepin’ It Real”

  1. Bobbie March 9, 2011 at 11:02 pm #

    I love it! Plus I’m super cheap too. I feel like I have to shop the clearance rack or I am simply over paying. I’m going to check out that website, thanks for sharing.

  2. frecklescrafts April 1, 2011 at 12:43 pm #

    I love it! Your WIWW looks a lot like mine. My “uniform” consists of jeans and some form of a t-shirt or sweater. I only have two pairs of jeans and a handful of tops. I don’t shop at trendy stores and make due mostly with what I can get at the Goodwill. Most of my other stuff I have had for years….some for almost 20, hehhe! Good thing- the WIWW posts have forced me to use what I have and try to be creative with it. I have become very lazy over the years with my dressing and this is my way of breaking those habits!

    Rebecca
    http://www.frecklescrafts.com

  3. Mckenna February 28, 2012 at 10:03 am #

    WOW! – Megan…Thanks for all the kind words about me and my jewelry. I remember you when you bought those earrings from me at the Four Seasons. They look so great on you.

    Thanks for the mention. And thanks for pushing my site, too. We can all do more to move towards being better about our impact. It can start with http://www.STOPrecycling.com

    ALOHA!

Leave a Reply

