I Like Pirate Skirts…But I Like Cute Flowers More.

19 Apr

In honor of Earth Day, I’m linking up with the CSI Project and their Reduce, Reuse and Recycle project. I’ll be honest. I’m not big on recycling. Granted, I’m sure it’s better than just throwing stuff in the garbage, but it’s so much better to find a way to reuse something you don’t want anymore! So that’s what this post is focusing on.

A friend of mine was given a skirt, didn’t like it, and passed it on to me. She said it looked pirate-y, so she thought I’d like it. I think a pirate skirt would be awesome. And I think it’s even more awesome that she immediately associated a pirate skirt with me. I put the skirt on, and it wasn’t so pirate-y after all. More like sad-pirate-at-a-ho-down. And that’s not exactly the look I’m going for.

That’s not exactly how the skirt looked originally. Imagine it with 2x the fabric. And an awesomely wide waistband that tapers to a point in the front.

I wasn’t sure what to do with the skirt, so I did what I do best. I destroyed it. I cut all the seams, and I tore it into strips.

I grabbed my hot glue gun and started making rosettes. Hundreds and thousands of them. Or something like that.

I made hair clips.

I made a necklace.

And I’ve got massive amounts of rosettes and fabric to spare.

All that for the cost of a few glue sticks.

Check out the other Reduce, Reuse, Recyle Challenge posts at:

Visit thecsiproject.com

{link goes up Wednesday night at midnight until Friday at noon EST}

One Response to “I Like Pirate Skirts…But I Like Cute Flowers More.”

  1. someonesgottapay April 21, 2011 at 5:07 pm #

    Thanks so much for stopping by my blog & for your sweet comments on my pin & headband! I’m loving your flowers too – especially on the necklace!

Leave a Reply

