Inspiration: Green

16 Jun

For the Gussy Sews Inspiration Workshop this week, the prompt was Green.

This is my inspiration:

Photo Credit

Someday my garden will look like that. I will compost my own soil and have a rain water collection system. It will be cute and it will be awesome.

And this is what I have now:

My garden is made of reclaimed wood from my little brother’s old treehouse. Can you see the camouflage spray paint on there? All the soil and fertilizer is from my parents’ farm.

Here’s the best part:

Meet Spidey, the kid who thinks he hates veggies.

He helps me with every aspect of gardening. In the spring we dig up the grubs and kill them, which he gets a real kick out of. He also helps pick out and plant the seeds, and he checks the garden almost every day for signs of growth. Even now he’ll call me over to the window and say, “Look how tall our corn is!” But my favorite part is seeing my boy who supposedly hates vegetables go over and pick massive amounts of spinach and eat it.

Gussy

3 Responses to “Inspiration: Green”

  1. Kelly June 16, 2011 at 9:30 am #

    i want a garden so bad. love it. came by from gussy.

  2. Sarah June 16, 2011 at 2:32 pm #

    Love your inspiration! I too came from Gussy’s Inspiration Workshop! I hope to have my own garden someday! Enjoyed your blog!

  3. kris June 16, 2011 at 2:56 pm #

    if i don’t have a garden that looks like your future garden, i’ll just visit yours! so gorgeous. and i love that you have spiderman as a gardening assistant. too cute.

Leave a Reply

