Sew Awesome

17 Aug

My sweet baby girl was a flower girl!!! She was so cute, even if she didn’t throw any petals.

Which brings me to this: I had to make her dress.

That wasn’t the original plan. My mother-in-law has mad skills on a sewing machine, and I planned to buy the materials and hand them off to her. It didn’t work quite like that. When I was at Hobby Lobby buying the last few things I needed, I got a call from the hubs telling me that his mom got Shingles.

Awesome.

She said she would still do it, but there was no way I was going to let her.

It’s not like I’ve never followed a pattern…

No, really. I sewed a dress when I was seventeen. Which wasn’t THAT long ago.

I’ve actually sewn several things for myself, but never use a pattern. I just eyeball it and tear it apart if it doesn’t fit right.

So here goes… A story in pictures and clips from my Twitter feed.

At this point I know I have to take my wins where I can find them. I managed to fold up all the leftover pieces and fit them back in the envelope! That’s some serious skill.

The first stitches! Woo Hoo!

The excitement didn’t last long…

At this point I was ready to throw my machine out the window. The thread got tangled over and over, and nothing was working right. There was a lot of unintelligible words and grunting and fists pounding on the table. Because of that, there are no pictures for awhile.

Just moments like this:

And all of a sudden, the sewing machine liked me again.

I learned how to gather fabric.

And I attempted to put in a zipper.

I have no idea if I did that right or not. My guess is no. But it worked. Tim Gunn would be proud.

Here’s the almost-finished just-needs-a-hem dress.

20110817-085647.jpg

20110817-085737.jpg

And here’s my darling baby on the day of the wedding. Please ignore her goofy face.

20110817-085814.jpg

And one more. I LOVE the giant flower in her hair!

20110817-085901.jpg

Overall, the dress was a success. Although, I don’t think I’ll be making another one any time soon.

Manic Mother

4 Responses to “Sew Awesome”

  1. Stephanie G. August 17, 2011 at 9:45 am #

    Great job! I would have been mortified to have to sew something that my girly had to actually wear–especially to a wedding. Kudos to you!! Your little flower girl looked precious!

  2. hellosweetworld August 18, 2011 at 8:53 pm #

    What an accomplishment! I couldn’t even begin to sew even a pillowcase. I have zero sewing skills! You did a great job and she’s a cutie!

    • lemontreelikes August 18, 2011 at 9:32 pm #

      Thanks. It was a challenge for sure!

  3. itstoilegood August 24, 2011 at 3:57 pm #

    OMG! That is gorgeous! Amazing dress and you sewed a zipper?! I am way impressed – that’s a feat I’ve yet to attempt. Your sweet girl is just adorable! Hope your MIL feels better soon! I’m featuring your awesomeness today! Thanks for linking to WWWW!

Leave a Reply

