Marathonaversary

6 Sep

One year ago today I accomplished one of my life goals: I ran a marathon. When I started officially training I had been running for several months, but still couldn’t run a mile without stopping. Sixteen grueling weeks later, I went a whopping 26.2 miles.

I was very fortunate to have two friends run with me. We encouraged each other and held each other accountable.

Here we are, picking up our race packets the night before.

This is the race course.

My jellybeans pinned to my running pants. Good for energy and super yummy. I ate about 100 calories every 4-5 miles.

My running shoes, complete with racing chip and flashing light, since the race started before sunrise.

Woo hoo! It’s time! We were all pretty nervous at this point. With good reason.

Do you know how many miles these shoes have seen? Probably over a thousand.

Slowing down for a mid-race kiss from the hubs around mile 13.

Still smiling! I think we’ve gone 16 miles at this point.

Mile 18!!! And I’m walking with my Gatorade. Because I seriously can not run and drink at the same time.

See that guy beside me? That’s my dad. He started running with me at mile 20 and carried my water bottle. He ran the final six miles with me. It was a huge encouragement to have him there.

Mile 23ish. Hurting like crazy, but still going.

Mid-race entertainment. Some marathons bring in bands or DJs. We got an accordion player. It was awesome.

Crossing the finish line!

Whew! I’m ready to collapse, but that would have taken way too much energy.

The legendary ice bath. I don’t know if it helped, but at least it made me numb so I couldn’t feel how bad my feet hurt.

Me, Bethany, and Lindsey.
We all finished!

One of the best things about running the marathon was being able to help someone else in the process.

I ran the marathon in honor of one of my former students, Joey, and also raised money to help build a house for his family. Through many generous donations, almost $1800 was raised.

You can read the story of why I decided to run for Joey here, and read about the results here.

Joey’s house was completed last month.

3 Responses to “Marathonaversary”

  1. Angela Amick (@MommyAngela3) September 10, 2011 at 11:03 am #

    AWESOME job!!

  2. Jenny September 16, 2011 at 8:38 am #

    Wow, that is awesome. You are inspiring!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What I Wore :: Fall!!! « Lemon Tree Studio - September 7, 2011

    […] Navy (less than $10 on the clearance rack!) Shoes ~ TJ Maxx Earrings ~ McKenna Hallett Necklace ~ my marathon necklace from Lift Your […]

Leave a Reply

