Quality Time and Flea Market Finds

9 Sep

I had a full house this week. Since both of our husbands were out of town, my sister-in-law, Mariah, came down from KC to spend a few days with me. My mom volunteered to watch the kiddos for an afternoon while we had some girl time.

Our first stop was lunch at Big Momma’s, where the very pregnant Ashley joined us. All three of us ended up ordering the exact same thing (the pick two, Juliet/Elegant) which was delicious, but also disappointing, because I had every intention of tasting whatever they ordered.

Ashley headed home for some much needed rest, while Mariah and I headed next door to Red Velvet, then down the street to Decades, and finally to Sorella’s Furniture.

The real agenda for the day was to hit up some local flea markets.

Our first stop was this place: S.T.D. Flea Market. Don’t let the name scare you away.

20110909-124329.jpg

This place is like a labyrinth. I can’t even count how many times we got turned around in there. There are a lot of booths full of things like every McDonald’s toy since 1957, but also booths full of great old stuff.

We found lots of hidden treasures, and I even bought a couple things. I’m really tempted to go back for that bench behind me, but don’t have a place for it right now.

20110909-124442.jpg

I didn’t realize how giant the ladder was, but it sure wasn’t going to fit in the car! Thankfully I had a bunch of my little brother’s old belts in the back, and we used them to tie the ladder on the roof rack.

20110909-124524.jpg

We’re so classy.

20110909-124611.jpg

We headed to a couple other flea markets. The next one was full of junk uh… trash hmm. Well, lets just say I won’t be back.

The last one we went to was amazing. We may or may not have high-fived when we went in. I really can’t remember, but if we didn’t, we should have.

It’s called Urban Flea Market and it is amazing. Ah-may-zing. It might be slightly higher priced than your average flea market, but it’s organized so well that I didn’t even care. Even the hubs would like this place, and that’s really saying something.

I got this red mirror at Urban. My main goal for the day was to find a big mirror to go on my mantle, and this one was perfect!

20110909-124648.jpg

The rest of the mantle has been redecorated since this picture. I was just too excited about the mirror to wait to take a picture until we were finished prettying things up.

I’m so thankful Mariah was with me, because she is a superstar decorator and helped me find homes for all my new (and some of my old) stuff.

{On a side note: We were mistaken for college students. Yep. In our thirties, kids at home. It made our good day even better.}

Do you shop at flea markets? If so, what’s your favorite find?

4 Responses to “Quality Time and Flea Market Finds”

  1. Mariah September 9, 2011 at 4:56 pm #

    We actually high fived when we saw the bank robbery. Gotta love the north side!

    • Lemon Tree Studio September 9, 2011 at 8:12 pm #

      I distinctly remember multiple high fives. Or maybe I don’t.

  2. stacey September 9, 2011 at 8:20 pm #

    std flea market??? I wonder whose bright idea that was! haha!

    I love flea markets!

  3. Sandy a la Mode September 12, 2011 at 10:31 pm #

    ohhh i LOVE going flea marketing!! i want to go now!!!

Leave a comment