Star Boy Cape :: DIY

14 Sep

Quite awhile ago I made this awesome Star Boy cape for my little superhero, and now I’m working on another one for his trusty sidekick: Star Girl.

I folded the fabric in half and ironed it, then sewed the sides together to make a cape shape, leaving the top open.

20110913-095344.jpg

Next, I sketched a star shape in the middle of the cape and sewed along the lines using several different stitches and colors of thread.

20110913-095427.jpg

To finish it off, I sewed a ribbon along the top edge and put Velcro squares to fasten it. My boy can put the cape on by himself, and it releases easily incase the cape gets caught on something.

20110913-100054.jpg

I love watching my boy pretend with his cape, and can’t wait to see both my kids wearing them together, saving the world.

*Update* Star Girl cape is done.

20110914-011728.jpg

20110914-011806.jpg

Manic Mother

3 Responses to “Star Boy Cape :: DIY”

  1. soldoutforever September 14, 2011 at 3:24 am #

    aaah that’s so cute 🙂

  2. itstoilegood September 22, 2011 at 2:36 pm #

    precious and simple! THE perfect project! Capes are something magical I tell ya! They can transform any child into a superhero! Love yours! Thanks for linking up to WWWW! Hope to see you again this week!

  3. itstoilegood September 22, 2011 at 3:04 pm #

    oh and PS – I’m featuring you today!!

Leave a Reply

