{Pin}spiration

15 Sep

One of my latest obsessions is Pinterest. This is old news to some of you, but I know others are asking, “What is Pinterest?” It’s a virtual pin board, where you can pin any picture you find on the internet. You can create any number of boards, add comments to the pictures, and even browse your friends’ boards.

This is what my profile looks like. You can see several of my boards, and icons of my pins.

And this is what I see when I go to the Pinterest home page: Larger pictures of pins that the people I follow have pinned.

You can also click on “Everything” and see pins from all Pinterest users.

You can re-pin the pins you see, or pin from something else you see on the internet.

When you sign up for Pinterest you will be prompted to add a “Pin It” button to the bookmark bar on your computer. Do it. The directions were simple enough for me to follow, and I seriously just had to ask Thad what the bookmark bar was called. I fake computer literacy.

The “Pin It” button looks like this:

Now when you’re out surfin’ the web and you see something totally awesome, you can pin it, which goes a little something like this:

“Ooooh, I totally loooove that red and white striped sweater!”

Click the “Pin It” button on your bookmark bar.

Every image on the page pops up. Click on the one you like.

This box will open, you select the category you want, write a comment or description, and pin it!

Easy peasy.

Pinterest makes it SO easy to organize ideas. And pictures of clothes.

I have a few friends who have been asking questions about Pinterest, so I will be doing a few more “how to” posts, and will also be showing some of the things I’ve found that have inspired me.

If you aren’t on Pinterest and would like to be, give me your email address and I’ll invite you! It’s tons of fun.

4 Responses to “{Pin}spiration”

  1. Sarah September 15, 2011 at 11:40 pm #

    Ok. Thanks. Here’s my question. Can you use the pin-it button somehow on the iPhone Pinterest app? I seldom look at Pinterest at a computer.

    • Lemon Tree Studio September 15, 2011 at 11:55 pm #

      Yes, you can. You have to add the Pin It bookmark to your iPhone bookmarks, which took me a little while to figure out… I’ll have to address that in my next post. I’ll have a lot of time on the road to answer your questions. 🙂

      Or maybe you can hand me your phone tomorrow night and I’ll do it for you.

  2. Sandy a la Mode September 16, 2011 at 9:13 am #

    yes yes! i am obsessed w/ pinterest and could spend HOURS on there!!!

  3. Alysia Coles September 16, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

    Cool! I want to be invited.
    alysia3409@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

