Summer Project {DIY}

28 Sep

This summer I took on a project that was bigger than my projects normally are. I built a swing set for my kids.

One thing I discovered is that pretty much all build-it-yourself projects are the same. The big ones just take a little longer.

I’ve always been very comfortable with building things. I look at the directions and everything just makes sense to me. That doesn’t always happen when I look at a recipe, so it’s a good thing I married a good cook.

How about you? If you buy a bookshelf (or a bicycle, entertainment center, doll house, etc.) do you put it together or call for help?

There is no shame in calling for help. If it’s something you don’t like to do and you can get someone else to do it for you, go for it. That’s why I like Dominos so much.

If you DO want to take on a building project but are a little nervous about it, I’ve got a few tips for you.

*Warning from my dad: If you’re reading this to get building tips, DO NOT start out by building a swing set.*

Okay then. Let’s get started.

Open the box. Obviously.

Start organizing your materials.

Each piece should be clearly labeled with letters, numbers, or both. I like to lay the pieces out in alphabetical order so they’re easy to find when I need them.

So, I said they’d be clearly labeled. Sometimes it’s not so clear. You’ll just have to deal with it.

Now for the hardware. I like to lay every thing out on a towel so the teensy pieces are easy to see and nothing rolls away. Do not, I repeat, DO NOT dump all the hardware out. You will never figure out which piece is which.

As you look at each step of the instructions, you will be given a list of materials needed. I like to gather all my materials before I begin each step.

Follow the assembly directions.20110928-093247.jpg

You might have to bust out some power tools. If you’re lucky.

Don’t be afraid to call for reinforcements.

This is my dad. He’s wearing his “other” khaki shorts. The ones with the giant rip that he only wears in Southwest Missouri.

Sometimes you need an extra pair of hands. And sometimes your dad’s power tools are nicer than yours.

And then you get this:

It’s just that easy. Uh, yeah. Super easy.

It took about a week, and my only injury came from the instruction book.

So, what are YOU going to build?

Tip Junkie handmade projects
Manic Mother

2 Responses to “Summer Project {DIY}”

  1. Anna September 28, 2011 at 10:15 am #

    Looks like so much fun!

  2. itstoilegood October 14, 2011 at 9:44 pm #

    Awesome tips on staying organized while building something so massive! Turned out great! Thanks for linking up to WWWW! I’m featuring you!!

Leave a Reply

