Melted Crayon Picture :: {Pin}spiration

29 Nov

I did a little project this afternoon, a variation of something I saw on Pinterest.

It started with this picture:

It was originally pinned from this blog, but the blogger says she got the idea from Pinterest! Funny how that works.

I wanted to make a smaller picture with my daughter’s name on it.

I picked out my colors and hot glued them to an 8×8 canvas.

20111129-185330.jpg

Then I put stickers down on the canvas to spell “ANABEL.” I didn’t plan on using cute stickers, but they were the cheapest ones at Hobby Lobby.

20111129-185342.jpg

I  used my heat embossing tool (you could also use a blow dryer) and melted those suckers! Then I pried off the letters, which proved to be more difficult than I imagined it would be…

20111129-185355.jpg

It didn’t turn out exactly how I expected. I thought the letters would be completely white, but the wax was REALLY runny and seeped under the stickers. I actually like the subtlety of it.

What do you think? Should I leave the letters like they are, or paint them white?

I’ll probably hang this in Anabel’s room for now, and when we move it will go in the play room, next to one for Ollie and Baby.

Linking up with:

Tip Junkie handmade projects

Manic Mother

3 Responses to “Melted Crayon Picture :: {Pin}spiration”

  1. Steph_Gamble November 29, 2011 at 8:26 pm #

    I say leave the letters as they are. It’s a cool effect.

  2. Mariah November 30, 2011 at 9:30 am #

    Leave the letters!

  3. Lindsi B December 2, 2011 at 12:28 pm #

    Wow that turned out amazing!!! I’d love you to link up with us.
    http://www.toysinthedryer.com/2011/12/fun-stuff-fridays-2.html

Leave a Reply

