Our Toy Rotation System

13 Jan

Do you ever feel like a toy store exploded in your house? I pretty much felt that way every day. Every toy had it’s place, but rarely made it there. The problem wasn’t lack of organization. It was that we had TOO MANY TOYS! I considered a massive toy purge, but most of the stuff was fairly new and still got played with. Finally, I came up with what I hoped would be a good solution: A toy rotation system.

I had no idea where to start. I pulled out all the kids’ toys and several empty tubs, and just stared at the mess. All the toys were sorted already (into little tubs or gallon zipper bags full of cars, dinosaurs, action heroes, etc.) so I just started tossing groups of things into the big tubs. Once I took action, the toys were divided up in no time.

20120112-093909.jpg

I tackled the costume tub as well, and put each costume in it’s own bag. It’s a little bit of a pain putting them back in every time, but it is SO much easier to find what we’re looking for!

20120112-093948.jpg

I get out one tub of toys for the kids at a time, and hide the rest of the tubs under my son’s bed.

20120112-094419.jpg

The costume bucket and stuffed animal bucket are always available.

20120112-094456.jpg

They tuck neatly under the bed, so they’re not out cluttering up the room.

20120112-094518.jpg

Every few weeks I put the “old” toys away and pull out a new tub, and let me tell you, it’s like Christmas.

20120112-094606.jpg

Toys that had been forgotten or ignored are suddenly the center of attention.

20120112-094626.jpg

20120112-094647.jpg

There are a few things that I keep out all the time. I already mentioned costumes and stuffed animals, and I also keep the Lincoln Logs, wooden blocks, and Legos easily accessible. They are put away and my kids have to ask for them, but they are available any time.

I implemented this system in November and wasn’t sure how it would work. At first my son asked every few hours if he could get a new tub out, or he would ask for a specific toy that was hidden away. Now both kids are used to it. When I do get out a new tub, it’s easy to see if there are any toys that they don’t care for. If they haven’t seen something in three months and don’t get excited about it when it comes out of the tub, it’s safe to give it away.

I spent MONTHS thinking about doing this, and stressing out about what a HUGE job it would be, but it really wasn’t that tough. It took one afternoon and has been SO worth it.

2 Responses to “Our Toy Rotation System”

  1. april c. January 14, 2012 at 1:10 am #

    this is amazing!! i love this idea — even though we only have one child, she is very VERY spoiled by grandparents {oh…. & us!} so i do feel like i’m deep sea diving with toys all the time.

    i absolutely want to implement this rotation system here — especially with books & the “tiny” toys because they seriously show up in the most random places!!

    • Lemon Tree Studio January 14, 2012 at 12:30 pm #

      My next step is to do a similar thing with books. I’ve got a sling-style bookcase on the way, so when it gets here I’ll get to work!

Leave a Reply

