Going to the Big “D” (and I do mean Dallas)

27 Feb

Thad and I took a short trip to Dallas to celebrate our anniversary (and so I could go to Ikea!).

There was a beautiful sunset peeking through the buildings as we pulled into the city.

20120227-211615.jpg

Our first stop was a pizza place called Il Cane Rosso. It was super yummy. We got a s’mores calzone, which was basically just melted chocolate and marshmallows topped with sugar and more sugar. Right up my alley.

20120227-211731.jpg
We stayed at the W, which I would describe as very “Alias.” If you haven’t seen the show, go watch the first few seasons.

20120227-212307.jpg
Their motto is “Whatever, Whenever” which basically means if you need anything at any time of day, they’ll do their best to make it happen.

20120227-212504.jpg
We had a few funny experiences with this. The employees at our hotel were eager to please, but didn’t always come through… Like when Thad asked for a razor and they sent up a toothbrush and toothpaste… Or when they offered us a free dessert for our anniversary (which was SO nice of them!) and two hours later we were still waiting for it to show up… Any issues we had were dealt with and turned out fine in the end.

We spent some time wandering around the Bishop Arts District, just snacking and shopping, which are two of our favorite things.

20120227-213143.jpg
Yeah, I’m pretty sure I have some leftover mocha on my lip in that picture…

20120227-213512.jpg

We also spent a good portion of a day at Ikea. It was our first time there, and I went in prepared! I had a list printed out, had the measurements of the back of my Xterra memorized, and was ready to fill it to capacity. And I did. Thad just wanted to eat meatballs.

20120227-213805.jpg

We had a great time together! I think it’s so important for couples with kids to get away once in awhile, and I’m so glad Thad thinks it’s important too.

One Response to “Going to the Big “D” (and I do mean Dallas)”

  1. Bill Chance February 28, 2012 at 12:05 pm #

    I’m glad you had a good time in Dallas – I love the Bishop Arts District.

    From your downtown photo, it looks like you were here close to Dallashenge – the day the sun sets directly down the streets:

    http://billchance.org/2012/02/20/dallashenge-photographs/

    Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

