How to Make a Quilt : a Beginner’s Journey : Part 1

19 Mar

One of my New Year’s resolutions was to make a quilt. I’ve never made one before, have very few sewing skills, and frankly, have no idea what I’m doing.

A few things I DO know:
Wash and iron the material before you start.

Yeah, that’s about the extent of my quilt-making knowledge.

20120319-142834.jpg
I’ve got my material ready to go. That’s gotta be worth something.

20120319-142918.jpg
I decided to make a pattern out of wide stripes. I don’t know if there’s a name for that, but it requires minimal sewing and only has straight lines.
Also, a rotary cutter is WELL worth the money!

20120319-143054.jpg
I set up the iron right by my cutting station (a.k.a. the kitchen table) so I could easily iron each piece of fabric once I was ready for it.
*Another thing I’ve learned: ironing while 7 months pregnant is scary. Do you see my belly poking out in that picture?

20120319-143506.jpg
This quilt is for my daughter’s room and I wanted to get her involved in this project as much as possible. I picked the material out but I let her pick her favorites and we got more of those patterns.
She also helped with the cutting (for about two minutes, anyway).

Aaand her hair hasn’t been brushed. I’m busy quilting! I can’t waste time with brushing hair!

The current quilt status is:

All the material is cut, and hopefully I’ll get some sewing done today. No promises on that, though.

The part that scares me is the batting.

Okay, and the sewing.

You know how thread is supposed to come out of the sewing machine and neatly sew stuff together? That doesn’t really happen with me. It is nice and neat on one side, and a giant tangled mess of knots on the other side. So…wish me luck. Or tell me how to make my sewing machine work.

I’ll keep you posted on how it goes.

P.S. Does anyone know off the top of their head what size a twin quilt should be? Or how big it should be before I hem the edges? I can ask Google, but thought I’d check here first.

Check out Part 2, Part 3, and Part 4

6 Responses to “How to Make a Quilt : a Beginner’s Journey : Part 1”

  1. Janice March 19, 2012 at 4:25 pm #

    ie, your sewing machine thread problem. It is either not threaded properly ot the tension is way out of whack. Also be sure the bobbin is in correctly.

  2. Janice March 19, 2012 at 4:36 pm #

    Your next purchase should be a clear acrylic ruler, much easier to use than a yard stick. Mine is 5″ x 24″ and has an edge that hooks over the edge of your cutting mat to make cutting straighter. Just keep your fingers away from the edge. Have fun and good luck.

  3. jenalsbrg March 20, 2012 at 7:19 am #

    wow…you are brave! can’t wait to see its progress. i have ideas of doing a quilt, but have even less abilities than you and no sewing machine. so. i’ll just watch you. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How to Make a Quilt : Part 2 : Aunt Polly knows what she’s talking about « Lemon Tree Studio - March 22, 2012

    […] read Part 1 of the quilting saga, click here. Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

  2. How to Make a Quilt : Part 3 : Putting the pieces together « Lemon Tree Studio - June 15, 2012

    […] out Part 1, Part 2, and Part 4 Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:Like2 bloggers like […]

  3. How to Make a Quilt : Part 4 : It’s Done! « Lemon Tree Studio - June 15, 2012

    […] out Part 1, Part 2, or Part 3 Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like […]

Leave a Reply

