How to Make a Quilt : Part 2 : Aunt Polly knows what she’s talking about

22 Mar

This post has nothing to do with actual quilt making. It’s more about the importance of asking for help. I like to figure things out on my own, because that’s the way I learn. Once I figure out how something works I can make it/use it/fix it on my own. Once in awhile I try and try and can’t ever make something work right. Then I blame the faulty equipment.
I’ve had a faulty sewing machine for nine years.
I would load the bobbin and try to sew, but the needle would take forever to pick up the thread.
When it finally did pick up the thread it would be a giant mess of knots.
I would adjust the tension, test it, adjust, test again, and again and again and again.
Then it would work.
For ten minutes.
Giant mess of knots.
Adjust tension.
Knots.
Tension.

On my last quilting post I mentioned this problem. My Aunt Polly (*not actually my aunt. She’s my first cousin once removed. Only the MacKinney clan will care about that) had a suggestion:

20120322-143114.jpg
I didn’t even know there was a screw on the bobbin.
I pulled out the bobbin, tightened it up, and pulled out some cloth diapers and cute material to make some burp rags. I was fully expecting to spend the next couple hours ripping out tangled thread and praying I didn’t break another needle, but guess what?
My machine sewed in a straight line with no tangles.
And picked up the thread from the bobbin on the first try.

20120322-143911.jpg
I sewed three burp rags, changed stitches, sewed through thick cloth and thin cloth, and it WORKED!
Aunt Polly knows what she’s talking about.
I am seriously SO excited about this.
Sometimes it pays to ask for help.

Check out Part 1, Part 3, or Part 4

2 Responses to “How to Make a Quilt : Part 2 : Aunt Polly knows what she’s talking about”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How to Make a Quilt : a Beginner’s Journey : Part 1 « Lemon Tree Studio - June 15, 2012

    […] out Part 2, Part 3, and Part 4 Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:Like4 bloggers like […]

  2. How to Make a Quilt : Part 3 : Putting the pieces together « Lemon Tree Studio - June 15, 2012

    […] out Part 1, Part 2, and Part 4 Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:Like2 bloggers like […]

Leave a Reply

