Bits and Pieces

25 Apr

It’s 9:30 in the morning. In April. The kids are swimming. I’m already eating my second meal of the day. And I’m reading my favorite pregnancy/labor book for the eleventy billionth time.

20120425-095103.jpg
My kids are so precious. They’re definitely not perfect, but I adore them and they adore each other. They’re also ridiculously hilarious. Both kids are super excited about meeting their baby brother sometime in the next few weeks. Speaking of their baby brother… he’s the reason I’m eating First Lunch at 9:30 in the morning.

20120425-095711.jpg
My end-of-pregnancy hunger rivals that of my marathon training days. The difference is, back then I would eat six meals a day after running 15 miles or so. Now I just sit on the couch all day. And GROW A HUMAN! So, that’s pretty hard work. Hudson isn’t doing a whole lot of actual growing right now, he’s just packing on some extra fat. Just like his mommy. It’s all part of the gig. Maybe I can run another marathon…er…uh, half-marathon to take care of all that.

I’ll be 36 weeks tomorrow, which means I’m due in four weeks, and in just ONE week Hudson will be full term and it will be okay for him to come out. I’ve never made it the full 40 weeks, and Anabel was born at 37 1/2 weeks, so I know this thing could happen any day. My body is already gearing up, and I’m so excited for labor to start! The Official Lamaze Guide is my very favorite book about labor.

20120425-101025.jpg
I try to have the most natural, drug free labor possible, but this book has great tips on how to deal with labor even if you have things like Pitocin, an epidural, or even a C-section. I recommend it to anyone expecting a baby. Get it. Read it. Educate yourself! I seriously read it about five times with every pregnancy, and occasionally even when I’m not pregnant.

Well, there you have it. My completely random thoughts.

Leave a Reply

