Online Grocery Shopping {best discovery of 2012}

30 Apr

A few months ago I discovered something amazing. Online grocery shopping. I had heard of it, and knew a few people who had tried it, but for some reason I never considered it for myself.
After one particular two and a half HOUR shopping trip that involved two very fussy children, an achy crabby pregnant mommy, three trips to the bathroom, and an overwhelming desire to stab everyone I saw, I decided it was in everyone’s best interest that I never go grocery shopping again.
I got home, Googled “Online grocery shopping” along with my city and state, and my life has never been the same.
Every Monday morning I plan the weekly menu, write a shopping list, and order everything. Around noon I get a phone call that always starts like this, “Hi, this is Bob from Price Cutter. When would be a convenient time for me to deliver your groceries?”
*swoon*
I love Bob. I mean, in a “I’m very happily married and he’s really not my type” sort of way.
This is my counter, after no grocery store and no stabbings.

20120430-160042.jpg
I get a printout of everything I’ve ordered, and I always double check to make sure it’s all there. I’ve never had any problems, but a friend had something missing once. She said she called and they came right back and fixed it.

20120430-160230.jpg
The online selection isn’t huge, but there’s a place you can request other items. I’ve done this a few times and always got exactly what I wanted. Like this fresh mozzarella.

20120430-160354.jpg
I am SO glad I started grocery shopping online, and although there is a fee, it’s worth it to me. I actually spend significantly less every week because I don’t make any impulse purchases.
Have you ever tried online grocery shopping? Do you think you will in the future?

2 Responses to “Online Grocery Shopping {best discovery of 2012}”

  1. jenalsbrg April 30, 2012 at 4:44 pm #

    I WANT TO. No one does it here (Wichita), but when I am in a city that offers this, I will be taking FULL advantage. Totally worth the fee. And I don’t even know what the fee is! 🙂

  2. shealynnbenner May 1, 2012 at 11:36 am #

    I totally need to check into online shopping. I think I’d spend less on impulse too. I’m such an impulse buyer. Typical woman. 😉

Leave a Reply

