Preparing the Garden and Finally Checking Something Off My To Do List

2 May

I don’t know why sticking to a list is so hard for me, but it is. Several weeks (or maybe months?) ago I made a list of things I wanted to get done before Hudson was born. Some of the things are pretty big projects, but they’re all things I enjoy doing. The problem is, as soon as these tasks made it on to my list they became ‘work’ and not ‘fun.’ I finally realized that this could be my last week of babylessness, and I better get some stuff done or resign myself to the fact that it won’t happen.
And so, project Wednesday is prepare and plant the garden.
The garden is pretty small and is a raised bed, so there really isn’t much to do.

20120502-103800.jpg
There are a few weeds to pull and grubs to kill. The neighbors’ cat has been using the garden for a litter box as well, so there was that to deal with.
I do not like that cat.

20120502-103957.jpg
Anabel helped with the weeding and played photographer for me. I had to wear gardening gloves for the first time ever because cats and pregnancy don’t mix well. I don’t want poor Hudson to get Toxoplasmosis.
Did I mention that I don’t like the neighbors’ cat?
We added some fertilizer and plant food, because my garden needs all the help it can get. The kids had fun digging in the soil.
The finished product looks pretty good. Now it just needs seeds.

20120502-104442.jpg
On a completely unrelated note, can you find the four leaf clover?

20120502-104532.jpg
.
.
.
.
.
.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.
.

.

.
.
.

20120502-104613.jpg

One Response to “Preparing the Garden and Finally Checking Something Off My To Do List”

  1. avamackinney May 2, 2012 at 6:13 pm #

    I found it right away! Yay me!!

Leave a Reply

