Thursday :: A Day in the Life of Megan

20 Jul

It’s Thursday. This is my life.
2:17 a.m.
I wake up to a fussy baby. Hudson hasn’t eaten in 3 1/2 hours and he is starving. I change his diaper and pull him into bed to feed him.
3:00 a.m.
Anabel comes in. Thad deals with her and I put Hudson back to bed.
3:15 a.m.
Anabel comes in again. She heads straight for me this time, and tells me she doesn’t want to sleep alone. I tell her I don’t want to be tired and crabby in the morning and I will be if she keeps coming in our room. This is a language she understands, and I don’t see her again for several hours. (Ollie told me later that Anabel showed up in his room in the middle of the night and jumped on the bed for awhile, until he convinced her to leave. I don’t know if this is a habit, but it would explain why she is so often tired and cranky…)
5:00
Hudson is hungry again. He eats and cries on and off for an hour or so, then falls asleep in our bed.

I got up around 7:00, got chocolate milk for the kids, and turned on a movie for them. I grabbed a quick shower while Hudson slept, then got breakfast ready.
I don’t always get around this early in the day, but knew there was a high likelihood that we’d end up at the doctor’s office at some point, and I wanted to be ready to go.
I called the doctor because of this:

20120719-180932.jpg
Sorry if that grosses you out. I saw the first spot last night and immediately thought Lyme Disease. This morning I saw five spots. Ghah. Turns out, she’s allergic to mosquito bites. The poor girl is drugged up now, and I toss her in the tub when she’s extra itchy.

20120719-190822.jpg
Since we were out and about during lunchtime, we got to eat at Chick-fil-A, which is always a treat.

20120719-191009.jpg
Lunch is over, so it’s time to think about dinner. I actually thought ahead enough to start prepping this morning:

20120719-191135.jpg
That’s a bunch of frozen dough rising on the back porch. We have some leftover pizza toppings from the grilled pizza Thad made for my birthday on Tuesday, so we’re making pizza pockets tonight. This is at least our third pizza-ish meal this week. I love pizza.
I was planning to make dinner, but Thad got home and saw the disaster of a project that I had going on in our room, and he took over.
Speaking of the project in our room…

20120719-191516.jpg
That’s the beginnings of a large dresser. It came in three big heavy boxes, and all the reviews say it takes at least four hours to assemble. So of course I think I can finish it by the end of the night. Along with nursing a 7 week old, taking care of a VERY needy 3 year old, attempting to give a little attention to my 5 year old, and trying to catch up on laundry. I think I like to have big projects going so I don’t feel so bad about skipping chores like vacuuming or cleaning toilets.

20120719-192126.jpg

20120719-192436.jpg

20120719-192645.jpg
Yeah, that’s me trying to shove a quilt into the washer while holding Hudson in the sling. It was pretty ridiculous.
The dresser project has gone fairly well, and I’ve had a couple “helpers” along the way. Here it is, only 5 hours in…

20120719-204621.jpg
I just need to build six drawers and I’ll be done. I might save that part for tomorrow.
I’m very thankful that Thad cooked dinner. It turned out much prettier than it would have if I had made it.

20120719-204858.jpg
The kids wanted to wrestle with Daddy before bed, but we’re supposed to keep Anabel from getting hot and sweaty for a few days while she’s all itchy, so they settled for watching Ultimate Spiderman together.

20120719-205623.jpg
The older kids will go to bed any minute, and I know I’ve got leftover birthday cake waiting for me once they do. Hudson should go to sleep around 10:30. I’ll take about 30 minutes to enjoy the silence, then I’ll head to bed as well.
I better get my rest.
It will all start again in a few hours.

Leave a Reply

