I Conquered a Fear Today

23 Jul

I just got back from Lowes. I love going there. I wander around, dream about projects, and buy too much.
But I don’t go near the lumber. It’s like forbidden territory. The “man’s” Lowes.
I’d be fine if I was with my dad, but I’m just a little (okay, a lot) intimidated to venture over by myself.
Today I did it. I conquered my stupid little fear and I walked all the way to the scary end of Lowes and I pretended to know what I was doing.
And it worked.
Things were iffy for a little while. I needed either plywood or a few 1x somethings cut to 40″ but I could only find stuff precut to four feet. I knew I could get it cut to size, but I kept thinking that four feet = 36 inches, so it wouldn’t be long enough.
Yeah….
Mommy brain strikes again.
Thankfully all the men were too busy with their man lists and buying their manly lumber to notice how long I stared at the plywood, then at the boards, and how I got my calculator (iPhone) out to calculate how many inches are in four feet.
Turns out that four feet is 48 inches. Who knew?
I know better than to trust my sneaky brain.
And so, I grabbed a few 1x4s, flagged down the nearest worker, and asked him to cut it for me.
He didn’t have a clue that I was shaking in my boots…errr, pink flip-flops.
The kids thought it was the greatest thing ever.

20120723-141638.jpg
When we got home I put the slats in place.

20120723-141845.jpg
Anabel saw me and said, “Are you fixing my bed, Momma? That’s so cool!” then she said, “…Do you think it’ll work?”
She has such confidence in me.
If it doesn’t work, she’ll be the first one to know.

20120723-142036.jpg

*Note* I did go back to Lowes and bought six more slats. I intended to get more the first time, but wasn’t thinking clearly. The bed is much sturdier now.

20120819-120548.jpg

4 Responses to “I Conquered a Fear Today”

  1. gramz July 23, 2012 at 2:38 pm #

    I did exactly the same project recently for my DS’s bed. Congrats for conquering that fear! Imagine what you will take on next! So proud of you.

  2. frontyardfoodie.com (@DianaParDue) July 23, 2012 at 9:18 pm #

    You are obviously awesome. I need to conquer that fear too because the piece of plywood that covers our crawl space opening rotted out and the random things I put over it are not making the cut….

    • Lemon Tree Studio July 23, 2012 at 10:25 pm #

      Awesome? I don’t know if I’d go THAT far…
      If it helps, plywood is sold in 2×2 and 2×4 sections. Bigger ones too, but the smaller sizes should be what you need. Knowing is half the battle, so get out there and buy some plywood!!!
      I bet Avery would love watching them cut the wood to size, too.

Leave a Reply

