Faux Chalkboard Stocking Tags

26 Nov

Image

I love the look of chalkboard tags, and wanted to make some for my kids’ Christmas stockings, but I knew the chalk would get wiped off several times a day, and would get chalk dust all over everything.

Yuck. I hate chalk dust.

But then I realized I could make something that looked like a chalkboard…but didn’t use chalk at all!

Score.

I got some wooden shapes at your craft store. These are from Hobby Lobby. I don’t remember how much they were, but I think they were under a dollar. They’re very thin and light weight.

Image

I made a hole in the top corner using an X-acto knife. I just pressed lightly and rotated the blade a few times.

Image

Next, I painted all the wood grey. I used cheap acrylic craft paint.

Image

I sanded the paint to distress it…

Image

…then painted again with black watered down acrylic craft paint. Watering the paint down makes it thinner (duh) and gives it a matte finish.

Image

The combination of sanding the layer of grey paint and watering down the black paint gives these the perfect dusty chalkboard look.

To finish it off, I used a white crayon to write my kids’ names. A dull crayon works best.

As you can see, I have three tags, but only two names. Kid #3 was in my belly at the time, and didn’t have a name yet.

Image

I tied the tags onto the stockings with some twine. I love the way they turned out!

And I really love that the names won’t get wiped off ten billion times a day.

Image

And tag number three?

It got a name on it a few weeks later.

Image

4 Responses to “Faux Chalkboard Stocking Tags”

  1. Mariah November 26, 2012 at 10:41 am #

    I used chalkboard paint and chalk. Your method is much better. Great job!

  2. Rin November 26, 2012 at 12:19 pm #

    Nice idea!

  3. Sarah November 8, 2013 at 2:04 pm #

    Love this! Where did you get the actual stockings???

    • Lemon Tree Studio November 8, 2013 at 5:21 pm #

      Thanks Sarah! I got the stockings at Target a couple years ago.

Leave a Reply

