What My 6-Year-Old Learned From Watching the Boston Marathon Bomber Manhunt

20 Apr

Yes, my kindergartener watched coverage of the manhunt.

When the bombing happened, I kept the TV off, and didn’t plan to tell the kids about it. I didn’t want them seeing gruesome images or being scared the next time I run in a race.

The next day, however, it came up.

I was very honest about what happened, without going into any details.

On Friday morning I read my Twitter feed and immediately turned on the news. Ollie was fascinated, and quickly learned two important things.

First, bad guys don’t always look bad.

20130420-133858.jpg
(Picture courtesy of my 4-year-old)

Ollie saw the picture of Suspect #2 on the screen, and said, “That’s the bad guy? So…bad guys just look like normal people?”

This is something I’ve tried and tried to teach the kids. Apparently it never sank in until they saw a REAL bad guy on TV.

Second, the real heroes aren’t cartoon vigilantes.

20130420-134814.jpg

Our house is full of pictures of the Avengers and Ninja Turtles. After about five minutes of watching the manhunt, Ollie ran to the table and started drawing some new super heroes.

I’m pretty sure this was the first time my kids have ever watched the news. I wasn’t sure if it was a good idea to let them know what was going on, but I’m glad I did.

Leave a Reply

